Each one counts

I slid my feet under the warm sand
Establishing a link with the sea
The sea that made me feel a part
Of a bigger picture
But never embraced me, never let me close
It was the sand that held me
Comforted me and let me watch
It was the sand that got me near the sea.

Always a praiser of the water body
How easy was it to forget
The million tiny particles that
Got together to form the beach
The beach that let me be princess
Of a castle of my own
Each little grain being a strong part
Of my tiny creation I had grown.

The rough edged grains that
Grazed my elbows and knees
Giving them a blushed touch
That I would later realise
And regret my act of feeling
Too comfortable ; In the land
Of grains and granules that , like time,
I realised slid out of my hand.

Each second ticking by
Like each grain falling down
I feel the lack of control;
The little I can do to keep hold
So all I do is make the most
Of each moment
As I let the sand slip out
As beautifully as possible.

# Grain

Published by

Pankhuri

Coffee Addict.Sea lover.Choosy reader. Part time Poet. Full time Observor.

One thought on “Each one counts”

Leave a Reply

